Skip to main content

What is NECCUM and what are the NECCUM member institutions?

Due to the evolving situation on campus due to the coronavirus outbreak, all Salem State University courses will be taught online for the remainder of the spring 2020 semester.  Please visit the college's coronavirus page for the latest information and campus updates.

Frequently Asked Question

What is NECCUM and what are the NECCUM member institutions?


NECCUM stands for the Northeast Consortium of Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts.

NECCUM is a consortium of 9 colleges and universities (private and public, two-year and four-year) linked by geographic proximity, and a commitment to enhance the experience of our students, faculty and staff through cooperative programs. Students at member institutions have the opportunity to take courses at and use the libraries of any of the NECCUM member institutions.

The 9 NECCUM member institutions are as follows:

  • Endicott College
  • Gordon College
  • Merrimack College
  • Middlesex Community College
  • Montserrat College of Art
  • North Shore Community College
  • Northern Essex Community College
  • Salem State University
  • University of Massachusetts at Lowell