Due to the ongoing COVID19 pandemic, parking and traffic operations will be handled primarily online. In the event that in-person service is needed, you may be required to schedule an appointment. For all inquiries, please email the university police parking office.
Parking Permit Information for Students
- Parking permits will be available for purchase online via Navigator in August for the upcoming academic year.
- Due to limited parking spaces, resident student parking is selected via a parking lottery conducted annually in May or June. Students selected from the parking lottery may purchase permits via Navigator. Information regarding the lottery is sent via Salem State email to all eligible resident students.
- First-year resident students are not permitted to have a vehicle on campus. If you have a unique circumstance that requires a vehicle, please direct written correspondence to the parking office. The correspondence must include sufficient documentation to justify the need for parking privileges.
- Students will have the option of having the cost of their parking permit applied to their student account. Select the "Student Account/Tuition Pay" option during checkout. The full cost of the permit will be added to the student bill at the time of purchase. Students will still have the option to pay for their parking permit in full via credit card at the time of purchase.
|Permit Type||Fall 2021||Spring 2022||AY 2021-2022|
|Resident: Atlantic/Peabody Lots||$275.00||$275.00||$550.00|
* The Bates Complex will be empty beginning in September 2021, but parking at the South Campus lot will still be offered at a heavily discounted rate.
- Permits are nonrefundable.
- Please email the university police department parking office with any questions.
Out-of-State Student Driver Policy
The Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Law requires out-of-state students bringing vehicles into the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to file a "Nonresident Driver Statement" with the local police department in the city in which their university is located.
Pursuant to M.G.L. ch.90 s.3, every nonresident enrolled as a student who operates a motor vehicle in Massachusetts that is registered in another state during any period beginning Sept. 1 of any year and ending on Aug. 31 of the following year must file a RMV "Nonresident Driver Statement" with the local police department. Failure to file such statement is punishable by a fine not to exceed $200.
Salem State University, in turn, is required by the Commonwealth to keep a record and provide proof to the state that students have been apprised of the law.
Who does this apply to?
- Any student that lives in on-campus housing that operates a vehicle in Massachusetts and does not have a Massachusetts license plate.
- Any student that is temporarily or permanently residing in Massachusetts that operates a vehicle in Massachusetts and does not have a Massachusetts license plate.
Who does this NOT apply to?
- Faculty, staff, vendors, visitors or volunteers.
- Any student that operates a vehicle with a Massachusetts license plate.
- Any student that commutes to campus and does not reside in Massachusetts (i.e. only comes to campus for classes but lives out of state temporarily or permanently).
Students bringing vehicles into the Commonwealth of Massachusetts whose vehicles do not have a Massachusetts license plate are required to download and complete the Non-Resident Student Vehicle Information Form [pdf]. This form will also be made available at the University Police station at the beginning of the new academic year. This form must be completed for every vehicle and returned to the Parking Office at the Salem State University Police Department.